Arts Nova Scotia Board Members Appointed

first_img People were recommended by the Arts Nova Scotia Transition Committee with Mr. Wilson making the final selection. “With the board in place, the transition of responsibility for funding will proceed over the next few months,” said Mr. Wilson. “It is very exciting to play a role in the development of this new independent arts funding organization,” said Ms. Stevenson. “I know we are all aware of the important task ahead of us and look forward to working to make Arts Nova Scotia an organization that serves the arts community and province in the best possible way.” The creation of Arts Nova Scotia is part of the province’s five-point plan on arts and culture released in February 2011. It is an independent body that will oversee provincial government funding that goes directly to artists. Legislation formalizing the council was passed during the fall 2011 legislature session. The contribution of arts to vibrant and healthy communities is being enhanced with the appointment of the first board for Arts Nova Scotia, today, March 27. Eleven Nova Scotians from across the arts sector will shape the policies and decisions of Arts Nova Scotia. The new board met for the first time today in Halifax to begin to shift funding responsibilities for artists and the organizations that support them to Arts Nova Scotia. “This is a very diverse group with a wealth of knowledge and experience that will ensure Arts Nova Scotia makes an important contribution to Nova Scotia’s creative economy,” said Communities, Culture and Heritage Minister David Wilson. “The board is varied in terms of its experience and geographical representation and positions it to make effective and independent decisions about funding and work.” The first appointees to the board, for two-year terms, are: Cory Bowles, Halifax Regional Municipality, African Nova Scotian, dancer, actor and musician. Claudia Buckley, Bayswater, consultant and contracted administrator of the Canada Council’s Theatre Section’s Flying Squad program. Michel de Noncourt, Antigonish, Acadian-Francophone, bilingual visual artist, sculptor and educator. Susan Hanrahan, Halifax Regional Municipality, executive director of the Nova Scotia Designer Craft Council. Mary Elizabeth Luka, Halifax Regional Municipality, bilingual arts consultant, award-winning documentary producer and television director. Eric Mathis, Halifax Regional Municipality, personnel and production manager for Symphony Nova Scotia. Barbara Richman, Chester, Lunenburg Co., established career arts administrator, consultant and former executive director of Symphony Nova Scotia and Halifax Dance. Laura Schneider, Sydney, director/curator at Cape Breton University Art Gallery. Don Sedgwick, Petite Riviere, Lunenburg Co., chairman and past-president of Transatlantic Literary Agency Inc. Candace Stevenson, Halifax Regional Municipality, is the retired director of Culture and Heritage with the former Department of Education and Culture. Mindy Gallant-Zwicker of Hantsport, Kings Co., emerging Mi’kmaq artist. last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *