Hollywood Vampires Announce Sophomore Album, Share Lead Single “Who’s Laughing Now” [Listen]

first_imgHollywood Vampires, the hard-hitting supergroup comprised of classic rock veterans Joe Perry and Alice Cooper along with actor Johnny Depp, have announced the forthcoming release of their sophomore album, Rise. The 16-track studio album will follow their self-titled 2015 debut when it arrives on June 21st via earMUSIC.Rise will feature a mix of original rock songs sung by all three men in addition to covers of David Bowie‘s “Heroes”, the Jim Carroll Band’s “People Who Died”, and Johnny Thunders‘ “You Can’t Put Your Arms Around a Memory”. Jeff Beck and John Waters will also make guest appearances on a song titled “Welcome to Bushwackers”.Related: Johnny Depp Sits In With Stone Temple Pilots [Watch]To go with the album’s announcement on Thursday, the group also shared its first single in the form of a dark and ominous-sounding song “Who’s Laughing Now”. The single features an abundance of growling guitar riffs from both Perry and Depp as it charges along with Cooper at the wheel on vocals. Depp even joins in to share some vampire-like vocals during the song’s pre-choruses. “Who’s Laughing Now” echos of the hard rock era in which these three men came of professional age. However, they also keep it light with a hippie-like addition to the chorus line, “Ha-ha-ha-ha who’s laughing now, man…”Hollywood Vampires – “Who’s Laughing Now”[Video: earMUSIC]“Rise came from pure creative energy, which is just like playing live with the Vampires,” Perry said in a statement about the creative process for their forthcoming sophomore effort. “The record showcases everyone doing what they do best without anyone looking over our shoulders. There was no pressure or deadlines, allowing us to write and record an album that is one of the freest and most honest sounding records I’ve been part of. I can’t wait to perform some of these tunes live for our fans.”According to a previous announcement from Perry, Rise is one of two albums the band will release this year, as they’re also expected to deliver a live album at some point as well.The band will hit the road for a brief run of spring shows across the western U.S. beginning May 10th at The Joint in Las Vegas and continuing until May 18th at Fantasy Springs Casino in Indio, CA. Fans can head to the band’s website for tour and ticket info.Rise Track Listing1. I Want My Now2. Good People Are Hard to Find3. Who’s Laughing Now4. How the Glass Fell5. The Boogieman Surprise6. Welcome to Bushwackers (feat. Jeff Beck + John Waters)7. The Wrong Bandage8. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around a Memory (Johnny Thunders cover)9. Git From Round Me10. Heroes (David Bowie cover)11. A Pitiful Beauty12. New Threat13. Mr. Spider14. We Gotta Rise15. People Who Died (Jim Carroll Band cover)16. Congratulationslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *