Parliamentary Golf Group holds inaugural annual dinner

first_img England Golf joined a celebration of golf when the All-Party Parliamentary Golf Group held its inaugural annual dinner in the Palace of Westminster. The golfing community was widely represented at the event and Nick Pink, England Golf Chief Executive, commented: “It’s good to have Parliamentarians talking about the benefits of golf, to be finding out what we do and how they can help us.” Group Co-Chairman, Karl McCartney MP, reflected on the Group’s first year of activity and said: “One thing that has become clear since we formed the Group is the huge support for the sport across the UK, and we are delighted to have the support of so many of the various bodies that represent different elements of the sport. “The Group’s initial focus has been on increasing participation, particularly amongst women and BME groups, and also on improving perceptions of the sport, and I hope that we can continue to be an active voice for the sport in Westminster, Whitehall and beyond.” The Group’s inaugural Parliamentary Golfer of the Year award was announced by as Andrew Bingham MP. He organised his own golf challenge in July this year, in which he played nine holes of golf on each of the seven courses in his High Peak constituency, raising over £6500 for four Mountain Rescue teams in the process. Andrew has also been a vocal advocate of the 9-hole version of the game, and particularly England Golf’s Golf Express initiative, which promotes 9-hole golf to inspire busy people to play more often. The evening’s guest speaker was Ken Schofield CBE, former European Tour Executive Director and a past President of the Golf Foundation. He gave his thoughts on the state of the game, and also discussed the work of the Golf Foundation and its work to help more young people enjoy golf and the many benefits it brings. The evening raised over £4500 for the Golf Foundation. The dinner was hosted by Group Vice-Chairman, Baroness Nye of Lambeth, on the House of Lords terrace, and brought together Members of both Houses of Parliament, Associate Members, Group supporters and dinner sponsors, Covéa Insurance. The Group was established in 2015, and has since grown to over 60 Members from both Houses and across all major parties. 23 Nov 2016 Parliamentary Golf Group holds inaugural annual dinner last_img read more

India women narrowly lose tri series tournament to Australia in finals

first_imgImage Courtesy: AFPAdvertisement 4dnNBA Finals | Brooklyn Vswu5Wingsuit rodeo📽Sindre E7ay( IG: @_aubreyfisher @imraino ) 3cWould you ever consider trying this?😱jn3mcCan your students do this? 🌚k1bRoller skating! Powered by Firework Started back in January, the 2020 Australia women’s Tri-Nation T20 Series among the women cricket teams of Australia, England and India has concluded, and the hosts have clinched the series victory, after defeating the Indian team in the final today in Melbourne. It was a close call between the two teams, and after a highly tensed game that could have gone either way, its the Aussies that came on top, beating India by 11 runs at the Junction Oval.Advertisement Image Courtesy: AFPAustralia scored a total of 155 for 6 wickets in the first innings. Chasing the target, the Indian team made all their efforts, but ultimately fell short in front of an amazing Aussie bowling squad, especially Jess Jonassen, who secured her first international 5 wicket haul, and was awarded the Player Of The Match award. Indian teenage sensation Richa Ghosh made her international T20 debut.The tournament, which is observed as a final preparation before the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, kicked off from 31st January. The three teams battled it out in a league table. While all three teams had equally scored four points, the Englishwomen had the lowest Net run rate (NRR) of –0.169, and the other two teams proceeded for the final.Advertisement Beth Mooney was the main factor behind Australia’s total. The 26 year old opener scored a swashbuckling 71-not out from 54 balls, with nine boundaries. With a total of 208 runs across the series, Mooney was awarded the Player of the Series award. The Indian bowlers Deepti Sharma and Rajeshwari Gayakwad both secured two wickets each.While the Women in Blue opener Smriti Mandhana started off the chase with a stunning knock of 37-ball-66 with twelve boundaries, her efforts went in vain as their whole batting order was wiped out in front of a brutal Aussie bowling squad after scoring 244 runs, with a brilliant performance from Jonassen securing five wickets.Advertisement It was an unlucky day for Indian captain Harmanpreet Kaur, who had to leave the 22 yards on just 14 runs. While Mandhana kept going till the 15th over, the Indian middle order fell prey to Jonassen’s vicious attacks in the later overs“In the last three overs we couldn’t take the pressure and ended up losing wickets,” Kaur said in the post match interview.Aussie skipper Meg Lanning appreciated Mandhana’s marvellous effort, and added that her wicket became the turning point of the match.“It was a really good all-round performance. Getting Mandhana was the game-changer, she was whacking us all over the park,” Lanning told reporters.Also read-Find out which two Indian cricketers made the ICC Women’s ODI and T20 teams of the year!KL Rahul claims he will settle unfinished business with NZ bowler James Neesham in IPL Advertisementlast_img read more